The Canadian Ministry (by order of precedence)

[PDF version]


The order of precedence for the ministry is determined by the Prime Minister. The order in which ministers are sworn into the ministry is also determined by the Prime Minister.

  1. The Right Honourable Justin P. J. Trudeau
    Prime Minister
  2. The Honourable Ralph Goodale
    Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  3. The Honourable Lawrence MacAulay
    Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  4. The Honourable Carolyn Bennett
    Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
  5. The Honourable Scott Brison
    President of the Treasury Board
  6. The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc
    Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  7. The Honourable Navdeep Singh Bains
    Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  8. The Honourable William Francis Morneau
    Minister of Finance
  9. The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould
    Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
  10. The Honourable Chrystia Freeland
    Minister of Foreign Affairs
  11. The Honourable Jane Philpott
    Minister of Indigenous Services
  12. The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos
    Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  13. The Honourable Marc Garneau
    Minister of Transport
  14. The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau
    Minister of International Development and La Francophonie
  15. The Honourable James Gordon Carr
    Minister of Natural Resources
  16. The Honourable Mélanie Joly
    Minister of Canadian Heritage
  17. The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier
    Minister of National Revenue
  18. The Honourable Catherine McKenna
    Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  19. The Honourable Harjit Singh Sajjan
    Minister of National Defence
  20. The Honourable Amarjeet Sohi
    Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  21. The Honourable Maryam Monsef
    Minister of Status of Women
  22. The Honourable Carla Qualtrough
    Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  23. The Honourable Kirsty Duncan
    Minister of Science and Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities
  24. The Honourable Patricia A. Hajdu
    Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour
  25. The Honourable Bardish Chagger
    Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister of Small Business and Tourism
  26. The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
    Minister of International Trade
  27. The Honourable Karina Gould
    Minister of Democratic Institutions
  28. The Honourable Ahmed Hussen
    Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  29. The Honourable Ginette C. Petitpas Taylor
    Minister of Health
  30. The Honourable Seamus Thomas Harris O'Regan
    Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence